As you probably know after the gnome 3.0 release developers are back on releasing the second iteration of the ‘awesome’ desktop, gnome 3.2. There have been discussions going on in gnome development lists. One of the discussions is about including deja dup backup as default in gnome. This will help to create a unified experience from the start.

Remember: This is not final yet and may not even be included in the final code.

null

There are some screenshots already available which shows the integration of the tool with the control center:

null

null

null

This is a great idea and really help in providing a better gnome experience. Hopefully this will make to the final code.

3 responses »

  1. Joel says:

    I use Deja Dup. One complaint – I think it is a serious one. I cannot combine automated backup porcedures with encryption. Before Deja Dup will backup using encryption, one must enter the encryption password. Obviously, this means no automation. But why, why is it necessary to enter a password before a backup just because the backup is encrypted?

    My day would be made if someone pointed out that I am wrong, but I think I have read enough posts about the same thing to believe that I am right. By the same token, lots of people are asking, so this may already be fixed (fixed may be the wrong word).

  2. […] Deja Dup (backup tool) to become default in gnome 3.2? As you probably know after the gnome 3.0 release developers are back on releasing the second iteration of the ‘awesome’ desktop, gnome 3.2. There have been discussions going on in gnome development lists. One of the discussions is about including deja dup backup as default in gnome. This will help to create a unified experience from the start. […]

  3. Davo says:

    Deja-dup is by far the easiest backup solution I’ve found for Linux. However, at least once every six months, I get fatal errors in my backup, necessitating a complete uninstall of deja-dup (including configuration files), a complete reinstall and configuring, then a full new backup from scratch. To this day I haven’t identified the source of the problem (debug code is unhelpful), but I would note that I do encrypt my home space and do a few other perhaps atypical things with my system. If it’s going to be a stock Gnome 3 component, it deserves further stress-testing.

Leave a comment