Lets accept it, some users don’t like new shell in Gnome 3.0. There are always a subset of users in every DE who don’t like or need the new iterations of desktops. Some of them are more concerned about the lost functionality (as pointed out in the comments below) in these new iterations. When gnome 3.0 was released and its new shell became the point of attraction, many users were disappointed. They did want their old Gnome 2.32 panels and nothing else.

There is a classic section in the new Gnome 3.0 but there were many functionalities removed and many were not happy with it. They wanted to look for alternatives, but there weren’t many options. Fedora moved with gnome 3.0 and Ubuntu moved to unity. For the time being they can use the Opensuse 14, or (about to be released) Linuxmint 11 with the good old Gnome panel. But what after another release cycle? what when these distros will move evntually to the Gnome 3.0 land?

Take a look at the image below before I continue.

null
Click here to view in big size)
No, the screenshot is not of the good old panel. This is a Gnome 3.0 shell with an extension (or better, a collection of extensions) enabled. These extensions make the shell look and act more like the old panel.

You get menu instead of activities view, application shortcuts could be placed on the panel, clock on the side etc. You could change or modify individual parts in this setup. For example, you could keep the clock in the center by deleting that particular extension.I have stated about the powerfullness of the Gnome 3.0 shell extension before. We (you) could modify the shell anyway we (you) want it.

The collection of the extensions can be downloaded from here. You could also find the description of individual extensions from the developer himself there.

13 responses »

  1. tracyanne says:

    quote:: Don’t like change?

    But I do like change. You are arrogant and ignorant to assume otherwise, of myself and probably almost all of those who dislike GNOME 3 Shell and Unity.

    What I don’t like is pointless change. I also don’t like change that takes away more than it gives back.

    Neither GNOME 3 Shell nor Unity give me anything useful on my desktop, in fact they both take away far more than they give. If that was not the case I would embrace them.

    If I did not like change I would not have my desktop looking and functioning the way it does. If I did not like change I would still be using the default GNOME 2.x desktop.

    BTW, adding the GNOME 2 style panel back into GNOME3 Shell won’t give me the desktop I currently have, and it especially won’t give me the functionality that desktop gives me.

  2. […] Don’t like change? Create Gnome 2.32 panel with Gnome shell extensions Lets accept it, some users don’t like changes. There are always a subset of users in every DE who don’t like or need a change whatever merits the changes could bring to them. When gnome 3.0 was released and its new shell became the point of attraction, many users were disappointed. They did want their old Gnome 2.32 panels and nothing else. […]

  3. AC says:

    Nobody likes change for the worse.

  4. rudepeople says:

    I’m not sure how to say it politely… gnome 3 is so bad, so frusteratingly useless, I have begun contemplating ganking the gnome 2.x code and developing it myself.

    I can go into a great detail regarding my distain for the gnome 3 direction, but I’ll keep this short.

    I have 3 displays, gnome shell is incapable of handling more than 1 display in a functional manner, if I move an active window to one of my displays other than the “primary”, gnome-shell literally loses the ability to see or work with it.

    next, right click… now I know there are people who have discovered that with the gnome-tweak tool, however; this only adds the ability to right-click on the desktop… when people think of “right-click functionality” they assume that right-clicking on ANYTHING will generate a response with a menu with any and ALL applicable options relating to the thing you have right-clicked… this is completely absent. Adding back the right-click-ability for the desktop actually only amplifies the perception of missing functionality.

    continuing on with customization… or LACK thereof… once upon a time I could MOVE things on the panel, I could put the clock where ever the heck I darn well please… now… I can only move the clock with a hack.

    Look, I’m going to stop there and say simply, the gnome 3 group has taken the path of Apple and Microsoft. they appear to have adopted the thinking that that THEIR way of operating in a GUI is the ONLY way to operate. their shell puts programs at a distance preventing me from actually multi-tasking–and this idea that people are getting distracted is a little too “work” oriented. Gnoem 3 is not my boss… in fact I work in a place where I am forced to use WINDOWS. when I come home, I LIKE BEING DISTRACTED.

    gnome 3 is to Linux what Antivirus 2011 is to windows. a plague that makes my computer unusable. after 10 years of gnome love… I have begun the slow and somewhat painful migration to KDE.

  5. […] for them, the ‘fallback’ mode is kind of a rip-off of the old gnome panels. We already showed you how to get the gnome 2.x functionality back to the shell world by using extensions. There was a […]

  6. Mike Stefanelli says:

    I just recently upgraded my fedora 14 to fedora 15 and was very disappointed when I brought up my desktop for the first time. I am relativity new to Linux (about 2 years now, finally gave up on windows) and have the up most respect for the people who develop and distribute Linux. So I really don’t like to complain, but I did like the old desktop I had much much much better than what I have with fedora 15. Please ,can someone change it back??

    Thanks
    Mike

  7. joe says:

    [unity] The Unity is perhaps a good desktop for tablet computers and iPhones and Game consoles. However, I use my computer the way god intended it, which is for programming. Unity is useless for that. [gnome 2.3] Furthermore the snazzy scrollbars that are invisible in Gnome 2.3 are piece of junk. I have 200 times a day first hunt for the scrollbar and then move it. Scrollbar is a control mechanism. Imagine the Gnome 2.3 scrollbar is used in control of nuclear power plant. Then imagine we have an emergency. The operator needs to find the scrollbar to save the plant. Do I need to say more? Why they would make the scrollbar hidden if it is something that I need 200 times a day, is beyond me. Good scrollbar must be (a) always present and (b) sufficient color to be visible.
    [new is always better] As to being an old fart, let me address that. Circle has been used for the shape of a wheel for several thousands of years — it is still the best shape. The old scrollbars that are always present and always visible ARE/were perfect. –have a nice day

  8. tuguix says:

    As many people addressed, Gnome 3 went the wrong way it fired back to the programmers, the menus are a mess you cant find anything not to mention the graphics related bugs, yes in case nobody noticed i bet your 3d AMD or Nvidia cards dont work as before. to be honest i decide to move on to another desktop the best i found was LXDE. i say good bye to gnome, also as mentioned by others i downloaded the source for gnome 2.32 and im working on it to suit me. LXDE is like a lite version of gnome desktop.

  9. cico says:

    I don’t like gnome 3 so much, must say… where are good old panels? To me it’s much more simple to minimize and open a window to a panel than how gnome 3 works… gnome 3 it’s quite unusable

  10. vincent says:

    Mmm… the more I read the more I wonder.

    Let me first clear the air. Gnome shell will probably rock on a touch screen, but that I cannot test because I work on PCs with keyboards and monitors. Now…

    I cannot figure out if the people at Gnome are listening or if they are only pretending, but it seams as if they missed the boat and betrayed many users.

    If I wanted a Appliance type desktop I’ll install Android or MeeGo, but patching gnome shell with extensions to look and/or function like the Gnome 2 is clearly a developer design flaw. Unity… If I wanted a Mac I’ll go buy one and take the money and a pack of fresh batteries for the Devils’ Mag-lite to Stevie (but didn’t he retire?, oops).

    Granted, the code that I have read so far for the GTK3 part is good it’s only the the Shell bit that stinks. I am busy formulating questions and depending on the answer or lack thereof I as a user will fork gnome, educate myself in gtk, C, svn and the like.
    Because of decisions made by people, the Gnome Foundation has lost my trust. I now will have to spend my time on fixing things where I could have spent it on promoting and educating small business owners on the benefits GNU and Linux has for there businesses.

    I have 2 proposals: 1. Porting GTK3 to Gnome 2 and develop or 2. Take Gnome 3 and replace Gnome shell with panels.

  11. Aurelio R. says:

    Hi All!!! I’m and very old linux user from unsuspected time. I work as an oracle dba. In the beginning was only solaris, now most installation and most customer run theirs instances on linux (very happy on this, I can exploit my years and years of work with linux ) I was very happy whit gnome cause they have historically choose to develop and resale by small step. Now, with gnome3 the things is changed. I’ve just upgraded from suse 11.4 to 12.1 and I’m hitting the same problems that various peoples before me describe well in this thread. I’ll still use linux (this is out of discussion for me) but immediately after I finished to write this my cry, I’ll get rid of this terrible and and disappointing gnome-shell. I think I’ll setup a LXDE for stability and a KDE for try edge technology. After so many years, now in my brain, there is somethings who tell me thet a such thinks called gnome-shell is part og KDE devel process. If gnome devels try to occupy the same segments historical owned by KDE team who fill the hole left!!?!? I think is a huge huge huge strategic errors. New gtk libs are good, but WHY you have released bot new libs and new DE together!??!?!?!?!??

Leave a Reply

