After the world clock, its time for another feature that is added to the 3.2 arsenal of the ‘awesome’ desktop. This time its one of the most requested features of gnome 3.0 that people complained about again and again. Yes, the gnome shell gets a replacement for the weather applet that is missing from the new version our favourite desktop.

No, I am not talking about the weather extension that is doing the rounds for the time being. This is not an extension. This is part of the core feature (or at least it looks though for now). ‘Stéphane Maniaci’ who is behind bringing the world clock to the gnome shell 3.2, as part of his ‘Google summer of code’ is behind this as well.

Ok, now for the main part; some screen shots only mock-ups this time.

There are two designs currently being discussed. Either include the weather information as a panel menu (as shown in the image above) or as part of the message tray (as shown below).

null

There are alternatives of these designs that are being discussed.

null

And the message tray alternative is

null

So what is the verdict (I mean my preference)?

I prefer the first image in the page, that is in the panel which shows all the future predictions in a raw.
And for the time being you could use the weather extension that is discussed here

16 responses »

  1. tracyanne says:

    Wow, first a world clock, now a weather applet, this is just so impressive. I almost fainted with excitement. Whatever will they think of next.

  2. didi says:

    I’ll be a bit more excited when the notification area comes back.
    I mean you know someone sends you an IM in Skype or messenger while you were out of the room, and when you go back to your screen, you actually see a notification without moving your mouse to the bottom-right.
    Not something fancy, but Gnome 3 managed to break that!

  3. VG says:

    A window list! That’d be a definite advance in OS GUI technology.

  4. […] Ready for Gnome 3.2? Welcome back the weather applet! « Justin Stories […]

  5. […] Ready for Gnome 3.2? Welcome back the weather applet! After the world clock, its time for another feature that is added to the 3.2 arsenal of the ‘awesome’ desktop. This time its one of the most requested features of gnome 3.0 that people complained about again and again. Yes, the gnome shell gets a replacement for the weather applet that is missing from the new version our favourite desktop. […]

  6. Lindsey says:

    It took me years to get my Gnome 2.whatever desktop the way I liked it. All gone, wiped out. I switched to KDE. It isn’t great, but I can make it work.

  7. graylion says:

    anything wrong with making it the user’s choice how things get displayed?

  8. Mircea says:

    If only you could make it use the same weather service the old applet used (Weather.com I think it was).
    The current service (Yahoo Weather) is a joke plus it only supports a handful of cities around the world.

  9. […] to be written to give us back this nice little feature. It may even be that this will be officially included in Gnome […]

  10. megaloman says:

    could we have a choice of weather providers? Yahoo weather is a real joke… would love weather.com, as it was more accurate!

    and please, make it visible at the top, next to the clock would be great!

    another suggestion – show weather forecast for afternoon / evening / night / morning – in cities like London, UK weather can change dramatically over few hours (from sunny summer to rainy and cold winter). I use snowstorm widget on my android phone and it does that saving my life by letting me know in advance about possible rain / cold weather 🙂

  11. Jon Deane says:

    This appears to not exist in the released version of gnome 3.2. Did it get cut? I’m asking here because I can’t find anything but this when searching on google.

  12. Dig the mock up. They all look good, and I guess I prefer the last one before the message tray, since it provides the most information. Sorry to hear that it never made it into Gnome 3.2 . Hope it makes it to a later version… Regarding weather.com, it seemed like it would update sometimes, and other times it would do nothing, at least for me anyways. In the USA, doesn’t NOAA provide this information somehow? I guess I’d have to look into that.

  13. Nick says:

    Gnome 3 what a joke were the programmers on drugs when they designed it.
    world clock “new to 3.2” it was alrady in version 2 and worked fine I had several time zones displayed on the right of the screen. can’t unpin the clock and move it.
    DEL doesnt work anymore SHUTDOWN has been hidden ….. nice one took me half a day on google to sort it
    In ver2 i used t be able to just click on terminal and a 2nd or 3rd window would open now i have to click around menus while the desktop is flashing around Gnome 3 should carry an epilepse warning
    dear progammers a little bit of advice “if it isnt broken DON’T fix it”
    oh sorry!!! did Gnome just hire a a design team from Microsoft … same idea we think its nice so we will force it on you

  14. When is this Gnome 3 nightmare gona end?!*#$^

Leave a comment